Child abuse in Weatherly Park is among the most serious crimes one can be charged with. In California, child abuse cases are prosecuted as serious crimes and for this reason, are subject to lengthy procedures and strict punishments under comprehensive laws. It is no doubt that the law should defend vulnerable children, but at the same time, it should protect the many caregivers, parents and other people working around and with children who are time and again falsely accused of child abuse.
In some cases, child abuse allegations are caused by misunderstandings or wrongful accusations. The penalty of being convicted of this crime can be devastating. People found guilty of it face heavy fines and prison sentences. Besides leaving an individual with a criminal record that makes it difficult to find employment, a child abuse conviction may also severely affect your relationship with loved ones. If you are faced with child abuse charges, it is important to seek quality legal representation from the best criminal defense attorney at Robert E. Levy.
In child abuse cases, penalty depends on whether it’s charged as a misdemeanour or a felony. This is determined by the nature of the offense and the injuries inflicted on the kid. Felony charges include child abuse resulting in a distressing condition with punishments under Penal Code Section 273d, which includes imprisonment for 2, 4 or 6 years. Under California Penal Code Section 273ab, in case the abuse leads to a death of a child, suffering from permanent paralysis or entering a coma state, the defendant may be condemned to a penalty from 25 years to life imprisonment in state prison.
Child sexual abuse is treated as a felony under California Penal Code Section 288 and penalties can range from 3, 6 or 8 years in a state prison. When the abuse is committed by violence, use of force or other intimidation means, this sentence is increased to 5, 8 or 10 years. Besides, a fine of up to 10,000 US dollars may be enforced and the convict will be needed to register as a sex criminal under California Penal Code Section 290.
In the case where a child abuse charge is considered as a misdemeanor, the penalty can be up to 1-year county jail, a maximum of 6,000 US dollars fine, or both the fine and imprisonment.
Evidently, the stakes in child abuse cases are extremely high for all people involved, with permanent repercussions including imprisonment, and damage to familial connections, personal relationships and livelihood. If you or your loved ones are faced with child abuse charges, it is advisable to contact an experienced child abuse defense attorney.
Experienced lawyer Robert E. Levy has a track record of successfully defending people faced with such charges. We will do everything to make sure that your rights are protected and your case is presented fairly. Our firm has many years of experience and has expertise in defending rights of people facing criminal cases. Robert E. Levy will work tirelessly to put up a strong case on your behalf. You should contact a lawyer to discuss your case before speaking with media or authorities.
The information on this website is for general informational purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as
legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create and receipt or viewing
does not constitute an attorney client relationship.